2016 USAC 5 Mile Stride, New Ross, 06-Aug-2016

ACWexford native, Andrew Connick, running for Ferrybank AC, was the well deserved winner of United Striders AC’s 5 Mile Stride, around the roads of Tererath, New Ross, last weekend. In a top class field, Ballyfin AC’s Colin Maher finished second, with last years winner Niall Sheil, St Killians AC, taking third place. With a winning time of 25 minutes 27 seconds, the pace was fast from the start, with Connick, Maher and Sheil establishing an early lead on the chasing pack headed by regular visitors Myles & Paul Gibbons SBR AC, Martin Monaghan Slaney Olympic AC and local man John McGrath. With a stiff uphill finish, the winner made a decisive push in the last mile, to win in great style, 22 seconds ahead of the Laois native, who in turn was 50 seconds clear of Niall Sheil, who turned in another great performance in this race.
SBR AC had a great evening, with Paul & Myles Gibbon and the ever popular Tommy McElwain all winning their age categories. Also winning category prizes, for the home club, were Mick O’Gorman and Ted Flannelly.UB
Irish international Una Britton, Kilcoole AC, made her journey to New Ross well worthwhile, winning the ladies event in a time 28 minutes 48 seconds. Last years winner Jackie Carthy ran another great race over this course, to finish second ahead of third placed Yvonne MacAuley, from Dublin’s Crusaders AC. In a very competitive renewal of the ladies race, Sally Forristal, St Joseph’s AC and Annaleigh Hore, Kilmore AC filled the next two places.Combined
Category winners for the ladies were Dee Ni Cearbhaill, Crusaders AC, Mary Doolan, St Joseph’s AC, Lillian Lawless, SBR AC, Mary Gaynor, Menapians and Bridget O’Flynn.
The final prize of the evening, the Seamus Burke trophy, was won by the United Striders team of John McGrath, Ted Flannelly, Alan O’Connor, Matt Flannelly, David Byrne and Luke Butler. Named after a great friend of the club and with three generations of Burke’s on hand to present the trophy, it was a fitting end to a fantastic day.
The club would like to thank all participants, both runners and walkers, for supporting our annual road race. Hopefully everyone enjoyed the hospitality and will return for the 2017 edition. Thanks also to our very generous race sponsors, New Ross Civil Defence, club volunteers and Tererath residents, for use of their community center. Finally the club would like to acknowledge the trojan efforts of race organisers Catherine Ronan and Aine Cullen, without whom the event would not be possible.
ACResults :

1. Andrew Connick 25:27 Ferrybank AC (num 27)
2. Colin Maher 25:49 Ballyfin AC (num 94)
3. Niall Shields 26:40 St Killians AC (num 87)

1. Una Britton 28:48 Kilcoole AC (num 30)
2. Jackie Carthy 30:41 Kilmore AC (num 45)
3. Yvonne MacAuley 31:39 Crusaders AC (num 100)

M O35 1st Paul Gibbons – SBR
M O35 2nd Bobby Redmond – Slaney Olympic

M O40 1st Myles Gibbons – SBR
M O40 2nd Martin Monayhan – Slaney Olympic

M O45 1st Tommy McElwain – SBR
M O45 2nd Billy Reck – Slaney Olympic

M O50 1st Ted Flannelly – United Striders AC
M O50 2nd Matt Flannelly – United Striders AC

M O55 1st Michael O’Gorman – United Striders AC
M O55 2nd Vincent McCarthy

F O35 1st Deirdre Ni Cearbhaill – Crusaders AC
F O35 2nd Sinead Croke – St Josephs AC

F O40 1st Mary Doolan – St Josephs AC
F O40 2nd Hanora O’Connor – St Jospehs AC

F O45 1st Lillian Lawless – SBR
F O45 2nd Maura Neville – Slaney Olympic

F O50 1st Mary Gaynor – Menapians
F O50 2nd Celia Walsh

F O55 1st Bridget O’Flynn
F O55 2nd Maria McCarter – Run 32 Cos Challenge

Seamus Burke Memorial Cup – 1st 6 from any Club to count.
We had only 3 clubs with 6 or more.
Winners – United Striders AC with
John McGrath
Ted Flannelly
Alan O’Connor
Matt Flannelly
David Byrne
Luke Butler

Please click here for Results 2016 5 Mile Stride


Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.